Book Review – THE SNOW KIMONO by Mark Henshaw

the-snow-kimono

The Snow Kimono Synopsis : There are times in your life when something happens after which you’re never the same. It may be something direct or indirect, or something someone says to you. But whatever it is, there is no going back. And inevitably, when it happens, it happens suddenly, without warning. Paris: 1989. Recently retired Inspector […]

Book Review – THE BONE CLOCKS by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks Synopsis : The dazzling new novel from the author of Cloud Atlas, at once the kaleidoscopic story of an unusual woman’s life, a metaphysical thriller and a profound meditation on mortality and survival. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2014 One drowsy summer’s day in 1984, teenage runaway Holly Sykes encounters a strange woman who […]

Book Review – THE LEGACY by Melissa Delport

Cover-The-Legacy-196x300

The Legacy Synopsis  One man obsessed with power. One woman prepared to sacrifice everything to stop him. One war that changed the world. “World War Three lasted twelve days. Twelve days was all it took for mankind to devastate the planet and almost eradicate the human race. No victor emerged from the ashes and billions lost […]

Book Review – SMALL BLESSINGS by Martha Woodroof

Small Blessings by Martha Woodroof

Small Blessings Synopsis: From debut novelist Martha Woodroof comes an inspiring tale of a small-town college professor, a remarkable new woman at the bookshop, and the ten-year old son he never knew he had. Tom Putnam has resigned himself to a quiet and half-fulfilled life. An English professor in a sleepy college town, he spends his […]

Book Review – HOW DOES ONE DRESS TO BUY DRAGONFRUIT? edited by Shannon Young

How Does One Dress to Buy Dragonfruit edited by Shannon Young

How Does One Dress to Buy Dragonfruit? True Stories of Expat Women in Asia In this collection, twenty-six women reveal the truth about expatriate life in modern East Asia through original works of memoir and creative non-fiction. Their experiences are varied and unique, demonstrating that expat women’s lives go far beyond the stereotypical. The writers […]

Book Review – THE QUICK by Lauren Owen

The Quick by Lauren Owen

The Quick Synopsis: For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London. 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new […]

Book Review – MY SALINGER YEAR by Joanna Rakoff

My Salinger Year by Joanna Smith Rakoff

My Salinger Year Synopsis: At twenty-three, after leaving graduate school to pursue her dreams of becoming a poet, Joanna Rakoff moves to New York City and takes a job as assistant to the storied literary agent for J. D. Salinger. She spends her days in the plush, wood-panelled agency, where Dictaphones and typewriters still reign and […]

Book Review – SPEED BOMB by John Lake

Speed Bomb by John Lake

Speed Bomb Synopsis: The compelling conclusion of the scintillating Leeds 6 trilogy and a stand-alone story, Speed Bomb is a street thriller that runs at a breathless pace. Colourful characters, colourful language and black humour fill the pages as we pick up the trail with Hamed on special operations in the Philippines before returning to Leeds to resolve one […]

Book Review – FAMILY HEIRLOOMS by Zulmira Ribeiro Tavares

Family Heirlooms by Zulmira Ribeiro Tavares 2

Family Heirlooms Synopsis:  “Zulmira’s fiction escapes the divisions among genres and constructs one of those hybrid and rational beings in whom one recognizes the consistency of modernity.” —Roberto Schwarz Maria Bráulia Munhoz thought settling down with a well-off husband in a house of her own would inaugurate a life of freedom and contentment, but she soon […]

Book Review – BEFORE WE MET by Lucie Whitehouse

Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse

Before We Met Synopsis:  A whirlwind romance. A perfect marriage. Hannah Reilly has seized her chance at happiness. Until the day her husband fails to come home . . . The more questions Hannah asks, the fewer answers she finds. But are the secrets that Mark has been keeping designed to protect him or protect her? And can you ever […]