Book Review – THE PECULIAR STATE by Patricio Pron

The Peculiar State by Patricio Pron

The Peculiar State Synopsis : A Vintage Shorts Original Selection Hamburg: home of a lapsed writer and his statistician girlfriend. He is part of the 41 percent of the German population that hasn’t read a single book in the last three months; she decides to make up a game. The rules of the game are these: the […]

Book Review – A MAN MADE ENTIRELY OF BATS by Patrick Lenton

a-man-made-entirely-of-bats

A Man Made Entirely of Bats Synopsis : A Man Made Entirely of Bats is a collection of short stories and flash fiction by one of Australia’s newest voices. Comedic and absurd, these stories are an entertaining exploration of the concept of super heroes and of the super strange in our world. (Spineless Wonders) BOOK REVIEW First of […]

Book Review – LUCKY ALAN And Other Stories by Jonathan Lethem

lucky-alan

Lucky Alan : And Other Stories Synopsis : The incomparable Jonathan Lethem returns with nine stories that demonstrate his mastery of the short form. Jonathan Lethem’s third collection of stories uncovers a father’s nervous breakdown at SeaWorld in “Pending Vegan”; a foundling child rescued from the woods during a blizzard in “Traveler Home”; a political prisoner in […]

Review – NANOPARTICLES by Charlotte Wood

Nanoparticles big

Nanoparticles Synopsis : In ‘Nanoparticles’, Lisa cannily observes the people waiting alongside her at the motor registry, from the harried mother of two to the man engrossed in his newspaper. With her characteristically sharp and tender observations, Charlotte Wood examines the smallest things that draw us together and the many larger issues that wrench us apart. (Allen&Unwin) REVIEW […]

Book Review – ONLY THE ANIMALS by Ceridwen Dovey

Only the Animals by Ceridwen Dovey

Only the Animals Synopsis : In a trench on the Western Front a cat recalls her owner Colette’s theatrical antics in Paris. In Nazi Germany, Himmler’s dog seeks enlightenment. A Russian tortoise once owned by the Tolstoys drifts in space during the Cold War. In the siege of Sarajevo, a bear starving to death tells a […]

The Collectors by Philip Pullman, a Christmas gift from Audible

The Collectors by Philip Pullman

I finally got my act together and transferred my Audible.com account (and my entire audiobook library) to Audible.com.au. I really don’t know why I’d been putting it off for so long – just a couple of clicks and it was done. They also have a great ‘welcome home’ special for Aussies transferring back to their own region marketplace […]

Book Review – HOW DOES ONE DRESS TO BUY DRAGONFRUIT? edited by Shannon Young

How Does One Dress to Buy Dragonfruit edited by Shannon Young

How Does One Dress to Buy Dragonfruit? True Stories of Expat Women in Asia In this collection, twenty-six women reveal the truth about expatriate life in modern East Asia through original works of memoir and creative non-fiction. Their experiences are varied and unique, demonstrating that expat women’s lives go far beyond the stereotypical. The writers […]

Book Review – GOOD AMERICANS, The Human Tragedy Volume 1 by Tejas Desai

Good Americans by Tejas Desai

Good Americans Synopsis:  In the tradition of Mark Twain, Sinclair Lewis, and William Faulkner, this groundbreaking short story collection paints an uncompromising portrait of a contemporary America filled with liars and buffoons, racists and swindlers, hypocritical ideologues and emotional manipulators. An Italian-American racist receives his comeuppance from a ghetto Hispanic teenager; a blonde runaway from Florida […]

Book Review – THE DIVING POOL by Yoko Ogawa

The Diving Pool by Yoko Ogawa

The Diving Pool Synopsis:  Beautiful, twisted and brilliant – discover Yoko Ogawa. A lonely teenage girl falls in love with her foster-brother as she watches him leap from a high diving board into a pool – sparking an unspoken infatuation that draws out darker possibilities. A young woman records the daily moods of her pregnant sister […]

Book Review – I STOLE THE RAIN by Elisa Ruotolo

I Stole the Rain by Elisa Ruotolo

I Stole the Rain Synopsis: I Stole the Rain tells a trio of unforgettable stories from the superstitious Italian province of Campania, where fizzy drinks are delivered by cart, old women sell gold to a furtive clientele, and the tobacconist’s daughter is a prize beyond imagining. In “I am Super Legend,” a local team of […]

Book Beginning and Review – CUTTING RIGHT TO THE CHASE by Stefania Mattana

Cutting Right to the Chase Vol1 by Stefania Mattana

Cutting Right to the Chase Synopsis Chase Williams’s life seems to be filled with crimes and mysteries to solve, even if he is not working at Scotland Yard anymore. In Tursenia, a pretty, Medieval city in the heart of Italy, Chase tries to live a normal life as an import/export executive for an international cashmere firm, […]

Book Review – LET’S EXPLORE DIABETES WITH OWLS by David Sedaris

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls  Synopsis From the unique perspective of David Sedaris comes a new book of essays taking his readers on a bizarre and stimulating world tour. From the perils of French dentistry to the eating habits of the Australian kookaburra, from the squat-style toilets of Beijing to the particular wilderness of a […]