Interview – Simone Pond, author of The Mainframe

The Mainframe Simone Pond

Today we welcome Simone Pond, author of the recently released novel The Mainframe to Booklover Book Reviews. The Mainframe is the third book in the New Agenda series. Book three picks up in the year 2345, seventeen years after the disappearance of former city center leader, Chief Morray. There has been peace among the West Coast regions for […]

Book Review – THE BONE CLOCKS by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks Synopsis : The dazzling new novel from the author of Cloud Atlas, at once the kaleidoscopic story of an unusual woman’s life, a metaphysical thriller and a profound meditation on mortality and survival. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2014 One drowsy summer’s day in 1984, teenage runaway Holly Sykes encounters a strange woman who […]

Book Review – THE LEGACY by Melissa Delport

Cover-The-Legacy-196x300

The Legacy Synopsis  One man obsessed with power. One woman prepared to sacrifice everything to stop him. One war that changed the world. “World War Three lasted twelve days. Twelve days was all it took for mankind to devastate the planet and almost eradicate the human race. No victor emerged from the ashes and billions lost […]

Book Review – THE FREEZER by Timothy S Johnston

The Freezer by Timothy S Johnston

The Freezer Synopsis: A Tanner Sequence Novel, 2402 AD CCF homicide investigator Kyle Tanner and his girlfriend are on their way to Pluto, en route to a new life together. Just one little death to check out in the asteroid belt first. But when you’re as tangled up in conspiracy as Tanner is, a few hours […]

Book Review – THE QUICK by Lauren Owen

The Quick by Lauren Owen

The Quick Synopsis: For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London. 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new […]

Book Review – BALD NEW WORLD by Peter Tieryas Liu

Bald New World by Peter Tieryas Liu

Bald New World Synopsis: What if you woke up one morning and everyone in the world lost their hair? In Bald New World, that very event happens and overnight, religion, politics, and fashion undergo dramatic shifts. Nick Guan and his friend Larry Chao are a pair of eccentric filmmakers who choose to explore the existential angst […]

Book Review – DIRK GENTLY’S HOLISTIC DETECTIVE AGENCY by Douglas Adams

Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams

Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency Synopsis:  Dirk Gently has an unshakeable belief in the interconnectedness of all things, but his Holistic Detective Agency mainly succeeds in tracking down missing cats for old ladies. Then Dirk stumbles upon an old friend behaving bizarrely – and he’s drawn into a four-billion-year-old mystery that must be solved if the […]

Book Review – THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS by M J Rose

The Collector of Dying Breaths by MJ Rose

The Collector of Dying Breaths Synopsis:  From one of America’s most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici’s court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past. In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating […]

Book Review – MARKING TIME by April White

Marking Time by April White

Marking Time Synopsis:  Seventeen-year-old tagger Saira Elian can handle anything… a mother who mysteriously disappears, a stranger who stalks her around London, and even the noble English Grandmother who kicked Saira and her mother out of the family. But when an old graffiti tag in a tube station transports Saira to the 19th Century and she […]

Book Review – THE SHINING GIRLS by Lauren Beukes

The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes

The Shining Girls Synopsis THE GIRL WHO WOULDN’T DIE HUNTS THE KILLER WHO SHOULDN’T EXIST. “The future is not as loud as war, but it is relentless. It has a terrible fury all its own.”  Harper Curtis is a killer who stepped out of the past. Kirby Mazrachi is the girl who was never meant to […]