Book Review – THE SNOW KIMONO by Mark Henshaw

the-snow-kimono

The Snow Kimono Synopsis : There are times in your life when something happens after which you’re never the same. It may be something direct or indirect, or something someone says to you. But whatever it is, there is no going back. And inevitably, when it happens, it happens suddenly, without warning. Paris: 1989. Recently retired Inspector […]

Book Review – THE BONE CLOCKS by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks Synopsis : The dazzling new novel from the author of Cloud Atlas, at once the kaleidoscopic story of an unusual woman’s life, a metaphysical thriller and a profound meditation on mortality and survival. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2014 One drowsy summer’s day in 1984, teenage runaway Holly Sykes encounters a strange woman who […]

Book Review – THE ROSIE EFFECT by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion large

The Rosie Effect Synopsis : ‘We’ve got something to celebrate,’ Rosie said. I am not fond of surprises, especially if they disrupt plans already in place. I assumed that she had achieved some important milestone with her thesis. Or perhaps she had been offered a place in the psychiatry-training programme. This would be extremely good news, and […]

Book Review – THE CANTERVILLE GHOST by Oscar Wilde

The Canterville Ghost audio

The Canterville Ghost Synopsis : A terrifying ghost is haunting the ancient mansion of Canterville Chase, complete with creaking floorboards, clanking chains and gruesome disguises – but the new occupants seem strangely undisturbed by his presence. Deftly contrasting the conventional gothic ghost story with the pragmatism of the modern world, Wilde creates a gently comic fable of […]

Book Review – INFAMY by Lenny Bartulin

Infamy by Lenny Bartulin large

Infamy Synopsis : REWARD: Twenty gallons of Rum for the Delivery into My Custody of one Colonel George Bloody Arthur. The Reprobate’s Offences include Fraudulently Impersonating a Lieutenant Governor. For I Am the TRUE George! William Burr, the son of an English settler in South America, had a steady job hunting mahogany pirates in British Honduras. One […]

Book Review – A TABBY-CAT’S TALE by Han Dong

A Tabby-cat's Tale by Han Dong

A Tabby-cat’s Tale Synopsis: Tabby isn’t an ordinary house-cat. Though he’s the most beautiful, captivating animal to grace the rooftops of Nanjing, Tabby is also prone to unpredictable outbursts of clawing and scratching, and to raging incontinence, and he has a slightly out-of-control flea problem. But he is beloved. And despite the trouble he causes with […]

Book Review – THE QUICK by Lauren Owen

The Quick by Lauren Owen

The Quick Synopsis: For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London. 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new […]

Winners of my Literary Blog Hop Giveaway

literarybloghopJune

It was a pleasure to be a part of the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (21-25 June 2014) once again kindly organised by Judith @ Leeswammes’ Blog. The books on offer here at Booklover Book Reviews were recently released translated titles courtesy of niche, digital-only publishers  Frisch & Co and Ox and Pigeon. Family Heirlooms by Zulmira Ribeiro Tavares (Frisch & Co) […]