Interview – Kit Brennan, author of Whip Smart: Lola Montez Starts a Revolution

WhipSmart3_CVR-663x1024

Today we welcome Kit Brennan, author of the recently released novel Whip Smart: Lola Montez Starts a Revolution to Booklover Book Reviews. A wild and sexy romp through history based on the real-life adventures of the audacious, Lola Montez. In her most flamboyant adventure yet, Lola Montez gallops to Bavaria and on an outrageous dare, seduces King Ludwig I.  […]

BAUDELAIRE’S REVENGE by Bob Van Laerhoven – Spotlight & Giveaway

02_Baudelaire's Revenge

Baudelaire‘s Revenge Synopsis: It is 1870, and Paris is in turmoil. As the social and political turbulence of the Franco-Prussian War roils the city, workers starve to death while aristocrats seek refuge in orgies and seances. The Parisians are trapped like rats in their beautiful city but a series of gruesome murders captures their fascination and […]

Book Review – THE MEDICI BOY by John L’Heureux

Medici Boy, The - John L'Heureux

The Medici Boy Synopsis: The worlds of art, politics and passion collide in John L’Heureux’s masterful new novel, The Medici Boy. With rich composition, L’Heureux ingeniously transports the reader to Donatello’s Renaissance Italy—directly into his bottega, (workshop), as witnessed through the eyes of Luca Mattei, a devoted assistant. While creating his famous bronze of David and […]

A PARIS APARTMENT by Michelle Gable – Spotlight & Giveaway

Paris Apartment cover

A Paris Apartment Synopsis: THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER. Bienvenue à Paris! When April Vogt’s boss tells her about an apartment in the ninth arrondissement that has been discovered after being shuttered for the past seventy years, the Sotheby’s continental furniture specialist does not hear the words “dust” or “rats” or “decrepit.” She hears Paris. She hears escape. […]

Book Review – THE CANTERVILLE GHOST by Oscar Wilde

The Canterville Ghost audio

The Canterville Ghost Synopsis : A terrifying ghost is haunting the ancient mansion of Canterville Chase, complete with creaking floorboards, clanking chains and gruesome disguises – but the new occupants seem strangely undisturbed by his presence. Deftly contrasting the conventional gothic ghost story with the pragmatism of the modern world, Wilde creates a gently comic fable of […]

Book Review – INFAMY by Lenny Bartulin

Infamy by Lenny Bartulin large

Infamy Synopsis : REWARD: Twenty gallons of Rum for the Delivery into My Custody of one Colonel George Bloody Arthur. The Reprobate’s Offences include Fraudulently Impersonating a Lieutenant Governor. For I Am the TRUE George! William Burr, the son of an English settler in South America, had a steady job hunting mahogany pirates in British Honduras. One […]

Book Review – THE QUICK by Lauren Owen

The Quick by Lauren Owen

The Quick Synopsis: For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London. 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new […]

Book Review – BLADE OF THE SAMURAI by Susan Spann

Blade of the Samurai by Susan Spann

Blade of the Samurai Synopsis: June, 1565: Master ninja Hiro Hattori receives a pre-dawn visit from Kazu, a fellow shinobi working undercover at the shogunate. Hours before, the shogun’’s cousin, Saburo, was stabbed to death in the shogun’s palace. The murder weapon: Kazu’s personal dagger. Kazu says he’s innocent, and begs for Hiro’s help, but his […]

Book Review – AFTER DARKNESS by Christine Piper

After Darkness by Christine Piper

After Darkness Synopsis: The winner of The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award 2014 It is early 1942 and Australia is in the midst of war. While working at a Japanese hospital in the pearling port of Broome, Dr Ibaraki is arrested as an enemy alien and sent to Loveday internment camp in a remote corner of South Australia. […]