Book Review – THE BONE CLOCKS by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

The Bone Clocks Synopsis : The dazzling new novel from the author of Cloud Atlas, at once the kaleidoscopic story of an unusual woman’s life, a metaphysical thriller and a profound meditation on mortality and survival. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2014 One drowsy summer’s day in 1984, teenage runaway Holly Sykes encounters a strange woman who […]

Interview – Kit Brennan, author of Whip Smart: Lola Montez Starts a Revolution

WhipSmart3_CVR-663x1024

Today we welcome Kit Brennan, author of the recently released novel Whip Smart: Lola Montez Starts a Revolution to Booklover Book Reviews. A wild and sexy romp through history based on the real-life adventures of the audacious, Lola Montez. In her most flamboyant adventure yet, Lola Montez gallops to Bavaria and on an outrageous dare, seduces King Ludwig I.  […]

Book Review – MAKING SOAPIES IN KABUL by Trudi-Ann Tierney

Making Soapies in Kabul

Making Soapies in Kabul Synopsis : Hot days, crazy nights and dangerous liasons in a war zone On an impulse, Trudi-Ann Tierney, Sydney producer and former actress, goes to Kabul to manage a bar. She quickly falls into the local TV industry, where she becomes responsible for producing a highly popular soapie. Trudi’s staff are hugely inexperienced. […]

Book Review – THE LEGACY by Melissa Delport

Cover-The-Legacy-196x300

The Legacy Synopsis  One man obsessed with power. One woman prepared to sacrifice everything to stop him. One war that changed the world. “World War Three lasted twelve days. Twelve days was all it took for mankind to devastate the planet and almost eradicate the human race. No victor emerged from the ashes and billions lost […]

Book Review – INFAMY by Lenny Bartulin

Infamy by Lenny Bartulin large

Infamy Synopsis : REWARD: Twenty gallons of Rum for the Delivery into My Custody of one Colonel George Bloody Arthur. The Reprobate’s Offences include Fraudulently Impersonating a Lieutenant Governor. For I Am the TRUE George! William Burr, the son of an English settler in South America, had a steady job hunting mahogany pirates in British Honduras. One […]

Book Review – THE FREEZER by Timothy S Johnston

The Freezer by Timothy S Johnston

The Freezer Synopsis: A Tanner Sequence Novel, 2402 AD CCF homicide investigator Kyle Tanner and his girlfriend are on their way to Pluto, en route to a new life together. Just one little death to check out in the asteroid belt first. But when you’re as tangled up in conspiracy as Tanner is, a few hours […]

Book Review – GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT by Alyson Foster

God is an Astronaut by Alyson Foster

God is an Astronaut Synopsis: The day of the accident, Jess is in the backyard with a chainsaw, clearing space to build the greenhouse she’s always wanted. And, as always, she is thinking of Arthur. Arthur, her colleague in the botany department, who never believed she’d actually start the project. Arthur, who has cut off contact, […]

Book Review – THE QUICK by Lauren Owen

The Quick by Lauren Owen

The Quick Synopsis: For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London. 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new […]

Book Review – BALD NEW WORLD by Peter Tieryas Liu

Bald New World by Peter Tieryas Liu

Bald New World Synopsis: What if you woke up one morning and everyone in the world lost their hair? In Bald New World, that very event happens and overnight, religion, politics, and fashion undergo dramatic shifts. Nick Guan and his friend Larry Chao are a pair of eccentric filmmakers who choose to explore the existential angst […]

Book Review – SPEED BOMB by John Lake

Speed Bomb by John Lake

Speed Bomb Synopsis: The compelling conclusion of the scintillating Leeds 6 trilogy and a stand-alone story, Speed Bomb is a street thriller that runs at a breathless pace. Colourful characters, colourful language and black humour fill the pages as we pick up the trail with Hamed on special operations in the Philippines before returning to Leeds to resolve one […]